The tourne´ cut and I are in the midst of a compromise. I have committed to practice until my little fingers cramp, and the tourne ´will at least behave during my final in four weeks, so I do not embarrass myself.  Above is my first attempt on some zucchini before it was demoed in class. Ignore that bold bottom one, he’s in a time out for not cooperating. We have done about an hour’s worth of knife cuts each day, sometimes less. An hour of knife time to me is like 5 1/2 minutes. Before I know it, it’s time to start cleaning up, and all I have to show is a piece of zucchini the size of a large olive, with pointy ends (no good!), and a bowl full of whittled potato scraps. God it’s fun.

Last night sealed the deal that I must conquer the tourne´. It has been the only cut that has entered my dreams. It was as if I was running in a mouse wheel, except the wheel was my hand, curve-cutting an endless potato (like opening up a peanut butter jar). It was potato purgatory, and I must get to tourne ´heaven.

My cooking has been limited at home, except for a stir-fry, sausage sandwiches, and the above sautéed shallot and cheese scrambled eggs with garlic-sautéed zucchini, bacon, and toast, which was by all means fabulous, especially after getting home close to midnight. I leave at 5 in the evening, get home at 10:30 at night, and sleep from 8 in the morning until 2 or 3 in the afternoon, which might sound weird, but it is my favorite sleeping schedule. I’ve tried others, and it’s just the one for me. Needless to say, baking will not be happening during the week, along with anything else that takes longer than 20 minutes to prepare.  Tonight I ate the weight of my head in steak. Things like steak let me spend an extra half hour with Jim, and when I only see him for a couple of hours a day, a half hour is precious. I do miss cooking every night, but for a while it will be quicker, but still quality meals. And maybe some Taco Bell before I finish my sanitation class and can no longer stomach to eat there. I will miss you Mexican pizza. You too taco supreme.

