Using some booty from the cheese festival, I added some smoked gouda with bacon cheese to some grilled corn I had left over, a little bit of butter, salt, and pepper to make a creamy sauce for our steaks. Yum.

For basil mash I added four garlic cloves, smashed, to 1 1/2 cups milk or cream, 5 tbls. of butter, salt, over low heat while potatoes are cooking. During the last 5 minutes add basil. Add to potatoes and mash. Pepper. Yum.

These turkey “burgers” were, well, turkey. If you aren’t beef, you are not a burger. The star of this sandwich was the smokey aioli.

Smokey Aioli

1/2 tsp cumin seeds

1/2 tsp coriander seeds

1/2 cup mayo

2 tbls. extra virgin olive oil

2 tsps. fresh lemon juice

1/2 tsps. smoked paprika

1 garlic clove

Toast cumin and coriander seeds over med-high heat, shaking often about 2 minutes. Cool. Finely grind spices in mortar with pestle.

Whisk olive oil, lemon juice, paprika, garlic, and spices in small bowl season with salt and pepper.

STRATA

Serves 8

Strata is the bread pudding of savory egg dishes. This super-easy treat generally includes cubes or slices of bread that have been soaked in custard, then baked in a casserole dish or a rectangular baking pan. This is a great make-ahead dish — it tastes best if you prepare it the day before and let it soak overnight before baking. Like many egg dishes, a strata can incorporate all sorts of different ingredients, so there’s a lot of flexibility here.

5 cups of cubed French bread (with crust)
Grated cheese (see Variations)
10 large eggs
1 quart whole milk
1 teaspoon dry mustard
1 teaspoon salt
Filling ingredients (see Variations)

1. Butter a 9 x 13-inch baking dish. Put the bread cubes in the dish and sprinkle them with the cheese. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, milk, mustard, and salt. Pour the egg mixture over the bread cubes. Sprinkle the filling ingredients over the egg mixture and fold them in gently. Cover and chill for at least 4 hours and up to 24 hours.

2. Heat the oven to 350 degrees.

3. Uncover the baking dish and bake for 60 minutes, until the mixture has puffed up slightly and is golden brown on top, and the strata doesn’t shimmy with uncooked custard when you shake the pan. Tent the dish with foil if the top is browning too quickly. Let cool for 5 minutes before serving. Serve by the spoonful, using a large serving spoon.

VEGETABLE-BLUE CHEESE

Sprinkle 1 cup crumbled blue cheese over the bread cubes. Distribute 1 cup cooked cubed celery root, 1 cup sautéed sliced zucchini, and 1/2 cup sautéed sliced onions over the egg mixture.

No celery root to be had at the store. I used 1 cup chopped celery, sautéed it until just soft in some butter. I also added 1 large clove of chopped garlic, sautéed for 1 minute, and I sprinkled a handful of parsley on top before baking.  My hand is on the small side: ) It soaked for about 10 hours.

I love Sundays. This may have something to do with not working on Monday mornings.  Baseball all day, dinner and lounging. It is the day of rest after all.  I seasoned some beautiful turbot with one of my seasoning mixes containing: salt, pepper, hot paprika, granulated garlic, granulated onion, ground celery seed, dry mustard, and coriander. I fried thinly sliced potatoes in vegetable oil, seasoned with salt, pepper, and hot paprika, then sautéed thinly sliced zucchini with salt, pepper, and chopped garlic. Garnished with some parsley.

I have never been a zucchini fan, and I am realizing this is because I must have had overcooked, under-seasoned zucchini. This zucchini had its own flavor even with the garlic. Zucchini bread here I come.

I am usually moving around the house like a fly while Jim tries to get me to sit near him. I start cooking, fridge, slice, bowl,  pop my head in to see a play, check something on the net, cut something, rinse hands, get a beer, knob, oil, watch another awesome play that I missed because I was sauteing something, back to cooking, grab seasoning, wipe hands, Jim comes in with a smile and a kiss, start reading about ingredient x that I am using, and get lost for twenty minutes, check the score, back to the kitchen, Jim turns up the volume knowing I will not be in for another half hour, Jim gets me a beer,  flip, sizzle, ouch, burned my hand,  paper towel, chop, wash hands, plates, silverware, napkins, stir, ready, not ready, camera, he reads, I cook.

And then we eat. I love Sundays.

