TLR: How would you describe yourself?

T: I am a round, thin, unleavened wrap used to make countless Mexican dishes. Corn tortillas have little or no fat, and they’re the preferred tortilla for making tacos and enchiladas. Flour tortillas are softer, higher in fat, and more pliable. I am traditionally used to make burritos, chimichangas, fajitas, flautas, and quesadillas, though some cooks use me to make everything from spring rolls to peanut butter sandwiches.

TLR: What is the first thing people should know before using you to make one of the dishes you have listed above?

T: Before filling me, cook me briefly on a hot, dry frying pan.

TLR: I know it has been a rough few days for you. We weren’t sure if this interview was going to take place. How do you feel today?

T: Relieved, but saddened. I have lost many a good friend to this day they call National Tortilla Chip Day. February 24th for a tortilla is like Thanksgiving day for a turkey, some of us make it to see another day, and some of us lose our necks.

TLR: Tortillas have necks?

T: Next you will be asking if we can read.

(Pause)

T: Yes, we can read.

TLR: Some confuse you with a Spanish tortilla. Can you once and for all lay this claim to rest?

T: A Spanish tortilla has nothing in common with its Mexican counterpart except its Latin root–torte, meaning a round cake…a Spanish tortilla is simply a potato omelet.

TLR: Can you give me your opinion on tortilla presses?

T: Tortilladora?  No comment.

TLR: What recipe would be your  favorite to take part in?

T: When my time comes: tortilla soup. A warm bath of hospice would be nice.

TLR: The Tortilla Curtain or Tortilla Flat?

T: Tortilla Flat.

TLR: Thank you for your time tortilla.

T: Tengo el placer.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love my fajitas with cotija cheese,  lots of my favorite hot sauce, Cholula, and black or pinto beans on the side with  garlic and fresh hot peppers, sautéed  in a little butter, plus a little cumin, chicken stock, and salt. I sometimes use bacon and change-up the spices. You can also top the beans with a little cotija cheese. Simmer down until they absorb the stock. I like them a little soft, but you can cook to the consistency you like. I use chicken in place of the beef sometimes. I don’t spend too much time making these look pretty. Their taste makes up for their lack of elegance. I also made a steak and baked potato fajita with leftovers. (Not pictured) I sautéed them both in some butter. They were both already seasoned, so none needed. I topped it with some cheese and enjoyed my second steak dinner. The recipe below is from It’s All American Food by David Rosengarten

